Saturday, November 25, 2006

Vacation Photos

For the past few weeks, many people have been "leaving me song downloads on MySpace", but now I'm getting vacation photos from Bob, Anthony, Henry, Sally, Donald, etc.

It was interesting that I do know an Anthony who is on vacation and so the message below caught my attention:

Anthony has sent you a photo from Vacation!

Click here to view the photo Anthony has sent from vacation:

Click here to share your photos with a friend:

At Vacation Photos Online we care about your privacy. We have sent you this 
notification to facilitate your use as a member of our service. If 
you don't want to receive emails like this to your email account 
in the future, please click below:

Vacation Photos Online Inc. - 4598 River Glen Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89103 USA

©2006 VP Online Inc., All Rights Reserved.

o  3Com 3C507 Etherlink 16/TP
2.1.2.  Ethernet cards
The goal of the new ports collection is to make each port as `plug-
10.4.12.  * PCMCIA
0xd4 write  Single Mask Register Bit
... much more junk deleted here ....

The links in this email were within the domain. The Whois information for this domain includes:

   Domain name: TARRX.NET
   Registrar: PacNames
   Referral URL:
   Domain Registrant: TOTALNIC-128733 (XSALSA@GMAIL.COM)
      Alex Rodrigez
      Alex Rodrigez
      PO box 109 WP 1432
      Lappeenranta NA 53101
      Telephone: +358.207818027
      Fax: +358.207818027
   Domain creaton date: 2006-11-07 17:15:00.0
   Domain expiration date: 2007-11-07 22:34:13.0

Which is pretty much the same information returned for (the target site for the attack I wrote about earlier). It's also the same info for several other domains received with this and they myspace attack including:,,, etc.

I followed the link in a fairly safe environment to a page that was offering to sell common software packages at like 10 cents on the dollar. Clearly a deal that's too good to be true.

I'm not sure whether this is simply plain old SPAM trying to get you to buy their stuff, a SCAM trying to get you to pay for something you aren't really going to get (the fact that thesoftwaree they are selling is only available via download) or, much more likely if you ask me, an attempt to get your credit card information to use for other identity theft related attacks.

UPDATE: 11/26 - today he started using a new domain that was registered Thanksgiving day (11/23):

UPDATE: 11/28 - He just won't quit -- today he registered two more domains and has started using them for this scam: and

UPDATE: 11/30 - In another offer for vacation photos, the domain was (as opposed to the former and this time the domain was owned by:

   Wan-Fu China, Ltd. (TARRX-COM-DOM)
   P.O.Box CB-11901

   Domain Name: TARRX.COM
   Status: PROTECTED

..... duplicate info cut out here .....

   Record last updated on 27-Nov-2006.
   Record expires on 26-Nov-2007.
   Record created on 26-Nov-2006.

That site just throws up pop-up adds at you. I'm not sure if it's the same person doing this attack or is this another person using the same attack to get revenue from pushing pop-up adds.

In any case, beware... don't click on or follow links in these emails.

UPDATE: 12/20 - this attack seems to have picked up again given the junk in my inbox as well as the hits on this page. New domains being used include:, (which is also used in another attack I wrote about),, etc.

Tags : / / / / /


Anonymous said...

I got an email for Microsoft Office 2007 Enterpise for 80 bucks, retail 899. site has changed to and it was registered today Nov 29th, 2006

Mike G. said...

Thanks for explaining this new form of spam delivery. I recieved the same thing and was afraid to click on one of the links. Thought I might recieve a keylogger or phishing package along with the promised photo!

Anonymous said...

numerous of these came up in December.. every time the Registrant's name changed or with variations, eg (CORSICARTISANAT.COM)
.... (TARRX.COM)
.... (DIYFC.COM)
It is registered in Bahamas, phone in Netherland, operating in Vancouver?!

Anonymous said...

Came across this old article after I left the previous msg:
"domain tasting"
- The practice, perfectly legal, lets registrars profit from the complex money trail of pay-per-click advertising.
- That means the taster gets cash every time a visitor clicks on an ad
- With zero risk and 100% profit margins, bulk registrants are now registering mass quantities of domain names every day
Now this luddite feels less panicky.

Ian said...

Wan-fu seems to be tied in to hollywoodsecrets dot com and a few other sites. They have an address in the UK. The reason is they expressed an interest in buying one of my websites so I did a bit of detective work before I replied. I am not sure I will now.

Regards Ian